Cubs Trivia

Who was the first member of the Cubs to win a Gold Glove Award?
Web searches are discouraged. Name the year for a bonus point.


My best guess is Ron Santo and the year would be 1964.

Ryne Sandberg in 1965?

Cesar Izturis? 2008?

Rawlings Gold? 1903?

Daryl Ward? 2007?


For Chad's sake, that should be DarylE.

Michael Barrett 2005

dave, when I read that second post, from the corner of my eye I thought it read "for Christ's sake...".

Perhaps "For Chad's sake" should be instituted as a new curse?

"Of for Chad's sake! It's Kerry WOOD, not Kerry WOODS, dumbass!"

Gold Gloves only awarded since sometime in the mid-50s.

Ken Hubbs? I think won before Santo. Did Ernie win one? I think he did, from reading something Bill James wrote.

agree DCF, I'm voting for Ken Hubbs. If that's the answer we need a link to AZ Phil's tribute to Hubbs

no one's really gotten it yet...

not Ken Hubbs

Now that I've peeked.

Ken Hubbs won in 1962, but he definitely isn't the answer. Randy Hundley won a GG in 1967, even Jody Davis one one!

won one! (excuse the phonetic spelling)

don kessinger?

glenn beckart




"Adam — July 17, 2007 @ 2:06 pm

Ryne Sandberg in 1965?"

Where to begin on this one?

pretty sure Adam was joking there...

someone said it but it didn't seem like their actual answer.

My guess,

Ernie banks and year?


I looked now too. This is tough.

Award questions like this are always interesting because you have to keep in mind that they haven't awarded all the awards forever. Last year was the 50th year of Gold Gloves, for example. The Cy Young award is somewhat similar; you can't hold it against Warren Spahn that he only won one Cy Young because they didn't offer the award until 1956, which wasn't until he was 15 years into his career.

Ernie Banks it is...the year was 1960.

Webby "Slick" McStretcherton, 1907

I think the Bill James comment I read on Ernie was to the effect that sometimes the gold glove is just awarded to someone because the league lacks a truly dominant player at the position. One of my partners swears that Ernie was a very good shortstop, with good hands and a good arm.

Cub winners

Ernie Banks 1960
Ken Hubbs 1962
Ron Santo 1964-68
Randy Hundley 1967
Glenn Beckert 1968
Don Kessinger 1969-70
Ryne Sandberg 1983-1991
Bob Dernier 1984
Jody Davis 1986
Andre Dawson 1987-88
Greg Maddux 1990-92, 2004-05 (2006 also, began with Cubs)
Mark Grace 1992-93, 1995-96
Derrek Lee 2005

After I guessed, I looked up the real answer. According to the first gold gloves weren't given out til 1957. Had I known that I would have guessed a different year, probably. Although I probably would have guessed 1957.

Didn't Bill Madlock win it?

I was going to guess Andy Pafko.

Kendall to start tonight, Bonds still needs to rest his poor legs that cant support all those roided up muscles any more.

That is according to ESPN 1000.

Gabby Hartnet, 1943.


The funnetic spellin I do believe would be 'wun wun'.

Recent comments

The first 600 characters of the last 16 comments, click "View" to see rest of comment.
  • based on what SF has been doing every other year lately, getting access to the postseason playoffs seems to be what's important. bring on dat short series!

    that said, skipping the sudden death 1-game WC would be nice from here on out.

  • I know what you are saying, but I feel compelled to point out that there's no such thing as luck, curses, etc. The Cubs this year have as good as a chance as the Pirates to move on to the next round. If the Cubs proceed to the next round or not tomorrow, it will not be because of luck, but because one team outlasted the other. When/if the Cubs are lucky enough to make it to the league series, that's where they may find their biggest challenge. The Dodgers have a good, deep pitching staff.

  • debuting the new format 1 game "sudden death" WC matchup at yankee stadium does a perfect job of showing the intense emotion and drama this game can be.

    that said, i'm ready to not see yankee stadium or hear fans at yankee stadium for another 5 and 1/2 months. at least i don't have to sit through the braves with their "tommy hawk chawp" this postseason.

  • i'd like to know why the internet radio feed of the game (which is always delayed by a few seconds at best) is almost a minute faster than the ESPN cable TV coverage. wtf?

  • i dont know what order they'll be in, but i pretty much expect fowler/schwarb/rizzo/bryant/montero/castro/lastella/arrieta. any change at all (aside from the first 4 guys) wouldn't shock me, though. coghlan is still a wildcard in the lineup joe could always march d.ross out there with very slow arrieta pitching.

  • Yup. Have to agree. Baseball, like golf, certainly has that psych component for the player. There is no real reason why a fielding position should affect a batting average. The Cubs are 106 years over due for a little luck. Don't you guys think so? Maybe the rookies can bring some dumb luck on.

  • probably stacking capable lefties vs cole while keeping the "hot" castro in the game. fwiw, he's 1-6 lifetime with 0 bb/k vs cole (double).

    i chalk bryant's issues at the plate while playing OF up to coincidence so far.

  • I will call your dead horse, "Trigger".

    In one game, when anything is possble, I am glad that Joe Maddon is our Manager.

    He knows the stats better than all of us. It would seem, IF La Stella gets the start at 3B, it will be only up to the point that they were to get the lead (crosses fingers). From everything I have read, the game will be managed like a hoops game: offense/defense. So expect La Stella to be out of the game by the 5th. This team is incredibly deep which is so surprising. We never woulda thunk it.

  • i don't know what their roster plans are, but j.herrera is out there practicing with the team.

    i can't imagine him making any roster, though. dude had 4 PA the entire month of sept. him being a good dude to be around while keeping the clubhouse loose seems to be his main role at this point.

  • I know it's my own personal dead horse to beat --but Bryant has been a lousy hitter when playing the OF this year. Given that it's his first playoff game, I really hope they keep him in his natural position and don't mess with his routine.

    Lousy as in 8-for-45 with one XBH and no HR. Small sample and all that -- but why take the chance?

  • hard to tell what's up given they'll probably want to stack as many good lefties into the lineup as possible.

    castro being a bit hot doesn't help things. if he was still cool they'd probably stick la stella at 2nd and call it a day.

  • Madden won't announce lineups but Stella is practicing at 3rd and Bryant in LF today. I'd rather see Bryant at 3rd but I guess Stella has been hotter than Coghlan.

    /edit. Though I guess they could be practicing this with the idea Stella would come in as a PH then double switch him to 3rd base and Bryant to LF. Hope that's the plan instead

  • I really like the sound of that idea about expanding the AFL to ten teams. Each org. gets to field more players.
    They should do that anyway, regardless of Adv. Instructs.

  • Dallas Beeler, Corey Black, David Garner, Pierce Johnson, Steve Perakslis, James Pugliese, Duane Underwood Jr, and Rob Zastryzny threw early-morning bullpen side-sessions at Riverview yesterday.  

    Underwood threw last, and received specific one-on-one instruction from pitching coach Mike Mason. 

  • HAGSAG: There are only five advanced instructs squads left, and presently the only "co-op" team operating is the Angels/Cubs.

    The league was originally established as a "parallel" league to the AFL (a sort of "junior AFL"), for players too advanced for traditional ("basic") instructs but who were unable to get placed on AFL rosters due to AFL player-limits.

  • He is but I would think it'd be better to start out with offense and then bring in Jackson and LaStella once they have a lead. Stella has very good PH #s too.