Performance-Incentive Bonuses

Performance-incentive bonuses are permitted in Major League contracts, but a bonus cannot be based on batting or pitching skill, or where the club finishes in the standings.

A performance-incentive bonus can, however, be tied to days spent on an MLB Active List during the MLB regular season, and/or Games Played, Games Started, Games Finished, and/or Innings Pitched for pitchers, or Games Played, Games Started, and/or Plate Appearances for position players. Awards such as MVP, Cy Young, Silver Slugger, and/or Gold Glove, and/or being named to an All-Star team, can also be tied to an incentive bonus.

Beginning in 2022, there will be a $50M pool established by MLB clubs each season to provide bonuses for pre-arbitration (auto-renewal) players: 

$2.5M if player wins MLP or Cy Young Award;
$1.75M if player finished 2nd in MVP or Cy Young Award; 
$1.5M if player finishes 3rd in MVP or Cy Young Award voting; 
$1M if player finshes 4th or 5th in MVP or Cy Young Award voting; 
$750K if player wins Rookie of the Year  
$500K if player finished 2nd in Rookie of the Year voting. 
NOTE: A player can only receive one bonus per season. If a player is eligible for more than one bonus in a given season, he will receive the highest bonus.   

Each MLB club will contribute $1.67M to the bonus pool each season. 

Any amount of the $50M in bonus money not automatically awarded to players in a season will be distributed to the Top 100 pre-arbitration players as selected by the MLB and MLBPA (method/criteria TBD).     

Cubs MLB Roster

Cubs Organizational Depth Chart
40-Man Roster Info

36 players are on the MLB RESERVE LIST (four slots are open)  

Last updated 12-2-2022
* bats or throws left
# bats both

Adbert Alzolay
Javier Assad 
Ben Brown
Jeremiah Estrada
Kyle Hendricks
Codi Heuer 
* Brandon Hughes
Ryan Jensen
Caleb Kilian 
Mark Leiter Jr
Ethan Roberts 
Manuel Rodriguez
Michael Rucker
Adrian Sampson
* Justin Steele 
Marcus Stroman
Keegan Thompson
Erich Uelmen 
Hayden Wesneski
Rowan Wick

Miguel Amaya
Yan Gomes
P. J. Higgins 

Nico Hoerner
Nick Madrigal
* Miles Mastrobuoni
* Zach McKinstry
Christopher Morel
* Alfonso Rivas
Patrick Wisdom

Kevin Alcantara 
Alexander Canario
Brennen Davis
# Ian Happ
Seiya Suzuki 
Nelson Velazquez


Minor League Rosters
Rule 5 Draft 
Minor League Free-Agents